Thu, Jan 17 | MOWES

Book Club Potluck

Do you love books? Do you enjoy sharing food and having good conversation? So do we :) Join us for our Book Club Potluck! **OPEN TO EVERYONE**
Registration is Closed
Book Club Potluck

Time & Location

Jan 17, 2019, 7:30 PM – 9:30 PM
MOWES , No. 28, Lane 50, Taishun Street, Da’an District Taipei, Taiwan

About The Event

7:30 - 7:45 ~~ Introductions

7:45 - 8:15~~ Eat, drink, and connect. Grab some food, wine, and relax with good company.

8:15 - 8:45 ~~ Let's talk! We'll talk about the memoir: When Breath Becomes Air by Paul Kalanithi.

Everyone is welcome to join us in reading! :)

PDF Link to book: https://www.readingstudios.com/uploads/5/2/4/6/52467441/_oceanofpdf.com_when-breath-becomes-air.pdf

8:45 - 9:00 ~~ Closing. Suggest and vote on the next book. Bring your ideas!

**Your help in tidying up and taking waste away is super appreciated.

Please bring something to share :)

A few ideas ~~

~ Salad

~ Pasta

~ Bread

~ Fruits

~ Easy-to-share dishes and entrees

Suggested Donation: $100NT

**We will have free tea. Wine available for sale.

When Breath Becomes Air PDF Link: https://www.readingstudios.com/uploads/5/2/4/6/52467441/_oceanofpdf.com_when-breath-becomes-air.pdf

About the book - excerpt from Wikipedia:

For readers of Atul Gawande, Andrew Solomon, and Anne Lamott, a profoundly moving, exquisitely observed memoir by a young neurosurgeon faced with a terminal cancer diagnosis who attempts to answer the question What makes a life worth living?

At the age of thirty-six, on the verge of completing a decade's worth of training as a neurosurgeon, Paul Kalanithi was diagnosed with stage IV lung cancer. One day he was a doctor treating the dying, and the next he was a patient struggling to live. And just like that, the future he and his wife had imagined evaporated. When Breath Becomes Air chronicles Kalanithi's transformation from a naïve medical student "possessed," as he wrote, "by the question of what, given that all organisms die, makes a virtuous and meaningful life" into a neurosurgeon at Stanford working in the brain, the most critical place for human identity, and finally into a patient and new father confronting his own mortality.

What makes life worth living in the face of death? What do you do when the future, no longer a ladder toward your goals in life, flattens out into a perpetual present? What does it mean to have a child, to nurture a new life as another fades away? These are some of the questions Kalanithi wrestles with in this profoundly moving, exquisitely observed memoir.

https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/25899336-when-breath-becomes-air

Registration is Closed